Print Page
Community Search
Convention Hall of Fame 2012
Share |

Hall of Fame

Speights, Hampton to be honored

Two longtime state editors will be honored as the 2012 inductees into the Mississippi Press Association Hall of Fame during the Southeastern Press Convention July 7.

Former Clarion-Ledger editorial director David Hampton and longtime Prentiss Headlight editor and general manager Patsy Speights, both of whom retired this spring, will become the 59th and 60th inductees into the MPA Hall of Fame during a special luncheon at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. The Hall was created in 1986 to honor journalists who are Mississippi natives or who made their mark on their chosen careers while working in the Magnolia State.

Hampton, 58, accepted an early retirement incentive option from the Gannett Corporation and left his job April 13 after three decades with the paper and its former afternoon counterpart, the Jackson Daily News. A Tennessee native, Hampton began his Mississippi career on the staff of the former Daily Sentinel Star in Grenada, now the GrendaStar.

He was serving as Vice President for Dailies on the MPA Board of Directors at the time of his retirement. He is a three-time winner of the J. Oliver Emmerich Award for Editorial Excellence, the top writing award presented annually by MPA. He also serves on the board for the Mississippi Center for Freedom of Information.

Speights, 66, retired earlier this year as editor and general manager of the Headlight in Jefferson Davis County. She is a past president of MPA and a past chairman of the MPA Education Foundation.??

She was also the state Chair for the National Newspaper Association and, in 2007, was awarded NNA's McKinley Memorial Award for her efforts on behalf of newspaper postal issues in Mississippi and nationwide. ??She was recognized at a retirement program in her honor April 19 at First United Methodist Church in Prentiss.

Read a tribute to the two longtime MPA members written by Sid Salter, Journalist-in-Residence at Mississippi State University.

For ticket information to the Hall of Fame banquet, contact the MPA office, 601-981-3060, or email event manager Kimberly Haydu.

Click here for a list of prior Hall of Fame inductees

For more information, contact:
Layne Bruce, executive director
Mississippi Press Association
601-981-3060, x229



Hall of Fame
Silent Auction

Childrens Activities
Sandestin Resort
Convention Home
MPA Home


more Calendar

MPAEF Celebrity Roast

2/8/2019 » 2/9/2019
MPA Mid-Winter Conference

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal