Print Page
Community Search
Clark elected MPA-MPS President
Share |

Clark elected MPA-MPS President

The general manager of The Vicksburg Post was elected President of the Mississippi Press Association and Mississippi Press Services, Inc., during the Association's annual convention June 24 in Biloxi.

James H. "Jimmy" Clark will serve a one-year term as president of the state newspaper association and its subsidiary advertising services unit. Clark was first elected to the MPA-MPS Board in 2006.

A native of Montgomery County, he began his newspaper career as a district manager for the Jackson Daily News. He served in circulation management for both the Daily News and The Clarion-Ledger before becoming the circulation director of The Hattiesburg American in 1984. He worked on Mississippi's gulf coast as circulation director of The Mississippi Press in Pascagoula and home delivery manager of The Sun Herald in Biloxi before joining the Post as circulation director in 1997. He was named general manager of the Post in 2002 upon the retirement of Otis Headley.

Clark is a past two-term president of the Mississippi Circulation Managers Association and a former membership chairman for the Southeast Circulation Managers Association. He has guided and helped coordinate the annual ArkLaMiss Circulation Conference for MPA since the program's inception in the 1990s.

In remarks after receiving the President's gavel, Clark said MPA member newspapers are uniquely positioned to serve their communities in ways no other medium can.

"There is no other newspaper, radio or television station, Internet or national news source anywhere that can provide local, in-depth stories with pictures like your newspaper," he said. "None."

Clark said he feels MPA members are doing a good job serving their communities, and those sentiments were reflected in feedback he shared from mayors and other civic leaders to whom he spoke in his preparation for taking the reins of MPA.

"I do know that we must change, adjust and adapt to remain successful and pertinent in our communities. That is an absolute must if we are to survive and thrive."

Clark and his wife, Joanne, have three daughters and five grandchildren.

Also elected to leadership positions at the 2011 convention were Neshoba Democrat editor and publisher James E. "Jim" Prince, III, who will serve as Vice-President for Non-Dailies and Clarion-Ledger Editorial Director David Hampton, who was elected as Vice-President for Dailies. Joel McNeece, publisher of The Calhoun County Journal in Bruce, was elected to serve as Treasurer.

Don Norman, publisher of the Starkville Daily News and Daily Times Leader in West Point, was elected by the membership to serve a three-year term as a board director.

The association's roots run deep in Vicksburg. Seven past presidents have called the river city home.

Clark is the sixth MPA president to come from the Post. The newspaper's current publisher, Pat Cashman, was MPA-MPS President in 1990-91. Its former executive editor, Charlie Mitchell, now Assistant Dean of the Meek School of Journalism and New Media at Ole Miss, served as president in 2002-03. Cashman's grandfather and father both served terms as president in 1938 and 1956, respectively. John G. Cashman, the current publisher's great grandfather and founder of The Vicksburg Evening Post, served as president in 1894.

In 1866, the year MPA was founded, I.M. Partridge, publisher and editor of The Vicksburg Herald, served as the association's second president. The following year, T.B. Manlove of The Vicksburg Times held the president's gavel.

MPA is the trade association for 125 member publications. Mississippi Press Services, founded in 1978, is a business subsidiary to MPA that provides advertising representation for member papers.


more Calendar

People, Politics & the Press: A Civic Engagement Summit

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal